Syunik is the southern province of Armenia. Its capital and largest city is the town of Kapan. Historically, Syunik was one of the 15 provinces of the ancient Kingdom of Armenia. Syunik covers an area of 4,506 km² (15% of total area of Armenia), making it the second-largest province in Armenia after Gegharkunik in terms of the total area. The first dynasty to rule Syunik was the Siunia dynasty, beginning in the 1st century. Syunik is a mountainous region, mainly covered with thick green forests. The Zangezur Mountains occupy most of the territories of Syunik. Mount Kaputjugh with a height of 3905 meters and Mount Gazanasar with a height of 3829 meters are the highest peaks of the province. Summer temperature can reach up to 40 °C, although the average temperature is around 22 °C, while in winter it may reach down to -12.5 °C. Syunik province is known also for tasty eco food and hospitable people.
Vahanavank is a 10th-11th century Armenian monastic complex located approximately 5 kilometers west of the town of Kapan in the Syunik Province of Armenia, situated at the foot of Tigranasar mountain along the right bank of the Voghdji River.
The monastery was built over a Bronze Age grave field (13.-11. BCE) by Prince Vahan Nakhashinogh, of which it gets its namesake, the son of Prince Gagik of Kapan in the early 10th century. The Armenian historian Stepanos Orbelian (c. 1250 – 1305) wrote that the prince had taken on a monk's robe and lifestyle to cure himself of demonic possession. In the year 911, Prince Vahan gathered 100 like-minded clerics and built the church of Surb Grigor Lusavorich. It is the oldest among the structures at Vahanavank. Vahanavank became the religious center for the kings of Syunik in the 11th century. In 1086, Queen Shahandukht II of Syunik and her sister Katan built the church of Surb Astvatsatsin as a burial site for her and her relatives. There are other structures, household buildings, khachkars and tombstones that date back to the 10th –11th centuries as well.
Wings of Tatev is a 5.7 km (3.5 mi) cableway between Halidzor and the Tatev monastery in Armenia. It is the longest reversible aerial tramway built in only one section, and holds the record for Longest non-stop double track cable car. Construction was finished on 16 October 2010. The cable car travels at a speed of 37 km (23 mi) per hour and a one-way journey takes 10 minutes. At its highest point over the gorge, the car travels 320 m (1,050 ft) above ground level. The link allows year-round access to Armenia's 9th-century Tatev monastery complex, one of the country's most important religious centers and a major tourist attraction.
The Tatev monastery is a 9th-century Armenian Apostolic monastery located on a large basalt plateau near the Tatev village in Syunik Province in southeastern Armenia. The monastic ensemble stands on the edge of a deep gorge of the Vorotan River. Tatev is known as the bishopric seat of Syunik and played a significant role in the history of the region as a center of economic, political, spiritual and cultural activity. It was built in 895-906 with the initiative of Bishop Hovhannes and the financial assistance of reigning Prince Ashot, his wife Princess Shushan and Princes Grigor Supan and Dzagik. Popular etymology includes a legend telling, that the master after finishing his work on the construction, asked God to give him wings ( Ta-give, tev-wings), so that he could see the magnificent beauty from the sky. God, listened to his request and made it come true.
In 1995, the monasteries of Tatev, Tatevi Anapat and their adjacent areas of the Vorotan Valley were added to the tentative list of World Heritage Sites of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
Zorats Karer (Zor- day, karer- stones), also called Karahunj, is a prehistoric megalithic structure near the town of Sisian in the Syunik Province of Armenia. It is the the oldest observatory in the world. It is also often referred to in international tourist lore as the "Armenian Stonehenge". The structure is listed in the specially protected areas of Armenia as a cultural and historical monument. About the age of Karahunj there are many contradictory and opposing views. The academician Paris Herouny has done many astronomical, mathematical and physical calculations, which proved that Karahunj is built more than 7500 years ago. Karahunj observatory consists of the following parts: the central region, North Wing, South Wing, the north-eastern stone way, chord, which crosses the region with standing stones. According to research conducted by scientists Armenians knew that the year consists of 365 days + 0.25, and about the spherical shape of the earth from many millenniums before the discoveries of medieval Europe.
On 17 March took place the long-awaited presentation of our company in Moscow.
French-Armenian legendary singer Charles Aznavour’s ilfe and activity will be concluded in one act ballet, Principal Balletmaster of Alexander Spendaryan National Academic State Opera and Ballet Theatre.
This year the day of lovers named after St. Sarkis, the Armenian St. Valentine, will be celebrated on January 23.